Menu Have Questions? 888-261-0787
Join Now Get NAAIM News

National Sponsor

  • guggenheim
  • profunds_logo

Platinum Sponsors

  • ceros
  • direxion

Gold Sponsors

  • arrow-funds-logo
  • security-benefit
  • Trust-Company-of-America
  • gemini-logo
  • Putnam-Investments

Silver Sponsors

  • 004web_Sierrai_mutual _funds_logo
  • wallach-beth-logo
  • kcg
  • nationalwide_logo
  • proshares_logo
  • orion
  • RIA-Database
  • Equity-Advisor-Solutions

Innovations Sponsors

  • stark&starkBLACK.RED_186C
  • INN_1_theta-naaim-ad
  • MTA_newlogoT

NAAIM Wagner Award

Wagner Award-0914

Congratulations Spencer Seggebruch on Winning the 2016 NAAIM Wagner Award!

2016 NAAIM Wagner Award Winners

Announcing the Call for Papers for the 8th Annual NAAIM Wagner Award – Whitepaper Competition

Now available – the Intent to Submit application form for the 2016 whitepaper competition, the NAAIM Wagner Award.

This award features a $10,000 cash prize for the first place winner, along with cash prizes of $2000 for 2nd place and $1000 for 3rd place.  The first place winner also receives air travel, lodging and free conference registration to the 2016 Uncommon Knowledge conference, to be held May 1-4, 2016 in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Deadline for the final paper is February 29, 2016.  We ask that all participants complete the Intent to Submit form by December 15, 2015.

Get the Application


About the NAAIM Wagner Award:

For Advances in Active Investment Management

Launched in 2009, the NAAIM Wagner Award is designed to expand awareness of active investment management techniques and the results of active strategies through the solicitation and publication of research on active management. $10,000 is presented annually for the best paper submitted to the competition.

The 2007-2008 bear market, following on the heels of the 2000-2002 decline, led many investors to question the wisdom of buy-and-hold investing, explains Jerry Wagner, a NAAIM founding member and co-chairman of the association’s drive to generate academic research on the viability of active management.

NAAIM members have always believed active is better, he said. Our competition is designed to support this position through sound research and shine the spotlight on those individuals advancing this field of study. Since 2009 the call for papers resulted in an international response, with authors from New Zealand, Great Britain, Canada, Germany, and India as well as the U.S., submitting research demonstrating advancements in active investment management and it’s potential.

The competition is open to all investment practitioners, academic faculty and doctoral candidates who submit an innovative topic in the area of active investing. This can be either a documented and justified investing ap­proach or an exploration into the validity of active investing. Active investing topics can involve making invest­ment decisions using technical analysis, quantitative analysis, etc. Papers can also address related topics such as position sizing techniques, money management approaches, scaling into and out of trades, exit strategies, etc.

Papers must be of practical significance to practitioners of active investing. An ideal paper provides evidence of the validity of an active investing approach via an example of a trading system that outperforms the market by some well accepted metric such as risk adjusted return, annual return, drawdowns, etc. Examples of supporting evidence sought include backtesting details and parameter sensitivity analysis. Sufficient trading system detail should be provided such that practitioners could replicate the approach. Other criteria used in judging will in­clude the quality of exposition, analytical rigor, and novelty of results. A jury of scholars and investment profes­sionals will review entries and award the prizes. For 2016, the best paper receives the NAAIM Wagner Award valued at $10,000; second place receives $2,000 and third receives $1,000. Honorable mentions or additional monetary prizes may be awarded at the judges discretion. In addition, the grand prizewinner will be invited to present his / her paper at the NAAIM annual conference. Free conference attendance, domestic coach airfare and up to three nights lodging will be provided.