Menu Have Questions? 888-261-0787
Join Now Get NAAIM News

National Sponsor

Platinum Sponsors

  • guggenheim
  • profunds_logo

Gold Sponsors

  • PFA Logo color_Princeton Fund
  • dressander
  • Trust-Company-of-America

Silver Sponsors

  • proshares_logo
  • nationalwide_logo
  • jeffnat-logo
  • orion
  • RIA-Database
  • Equity-Advisor-Solutions
  • gemini-logo

Innovations Sponsors

  • INN_1_theta-naaim-ad
  • market-logo

NAAIM Founders Award

2017 Call for Papers

NAAIM Founders Award

Announcing the Call for Papers for the 9th Annual NAAIM Founders Award (Formerly the NAAIM Wagner Award) -Whitepaper Competition

Now available – the Intent to Submit application form for the 2017 whitepaper competition, the NAAIM Founders Award.

This is a research competition that draws entries from all over the world in the areas of computational finance, advanced algorithms, tactical investment management techniques, strategic investment strategies and numerous other topics, all designed to further our knowledge of the active investing world.

The competition is open to anyone involved in financial services including academic faculty, researchers and graduate students, investment advisors, analysts and other financial professionals.

Papers need to focus on describing an investment technique, its pros and cons and the market conditions under which it is expected to fare well or poorly, or should explore topics in active investing that are of broad interest to the investment community.

The winning author will receive the following prize package:

  • $5,000 cash prize plus the opportunity to present the winning paper at the 2017 NAAIM Uncommon Knowledge conference, April 30-May 3, in San Diego, CA.  Opportunity includes conference registration, domestic coach airfare and one night lodging for one author of the winning paper.

Deadline for the final paper is February 28, 2017.  We ask that all participants complete the Intent to Submit form by January 31, 2017.

Get the Call for Papers here

2016 NAAIM Founders/Wagner Award Winners

About the NAAIM Founders Award:

For Advances in Active Investment Management

Launched in 2009, the NAAIM Founders Award (formerly known as the NAAIM Wagner Award) is designed to expand awareness of active investment management techniques and the results of active strategies through the solicitation and publication of research on active management. $10,000 is presented annually for the best paper submitted to the competition.

The 2007-2008 bear market, following on the heels of the 2000-2002 decline, led many investors to question the wisdom of buy-and-hold investing.

NAAIM members have always believed active is better.  This competition is designed to support this position through sound research and shine the spotlight on those individuals advancing this field of study. Since 2009 the call for papers resulted in an international response, with authors from New Zealand, Great Britain, Canada, Germany, and India as well as the U.S., submitting research demonstrating advancements in active investment management and it’s potential.

The competition is open to all investment practitioners, academic faculty and doctoral candidates who submit an innovative topic in the area of active investing. This can be either a documented and justified investing ap­proach or an exploration into the validity of active investing. Active investing topics can involve making invest­ment decisions using technical analysis, quantitative analysis, etc. Papers can also address related topics such as position sizing techniques, money management approaches, scaling into and out of trades, exit strategies, etc.