Menu Have Questions? 888-261-0787
Join Now Get NAAIM News

National Sponsor

Platinum Sponsors

  • direxion
  • ceros
  • guggenheim
  • profunds_logo

Gold Sponsors

  • security-benefit
  • princeton-fund-advisors-llc
  • dressander
  • Trust-Company-of-America

Silver Sponsors

  • kcg
  • proshares_logo
  • nationalwide_logo
  • jeffnat-logo
  • orion
  • RIA-Database
  • Equity-Advisor-Solutions
  • gemini-logo
  • market-logo

Innovations Sponsors

  • INN_1_theta-naaim-ad

Active Management Library

This is a listing of some of the many resources that NAAIM members can use to educate themselves about Active Investment Management. If you’re a NAAIM member, login and go to the NAAIM Community to view or download the information that you need. If you are not a NAAIM member, visit our Membership page to learn more about NAAIM and how you can benefit by joining.

NEW resources added below:

  • Tech and Social Media
    • Outlook 2016 (Nov 14-15 in Dallas-FW) will feature member panels and speakers on technology for trading and marketing.  NAAIM Me
    • Financial Advisor Technology Guru Joel Bruckenstein invites you to sign up for a monthly summary of all articles posted on his T3 Technology Hub website
    • Putnam Investments Webinar:
      • Leveraging LinkedIn for your practice, Chad Hollis, Manager, Marketing Technology Listen to replay now.
  • Compliance
    • The Consortium offers a number of compliance related resources, (some free, others for a small charge) including
      • Compliance E-Post A free monthly email service with brief postings of the hot industry buzz
      •  Compliance E-News – The monthly executive summary of all the news that made the news.
      • Compliance E-Alert – A value-added subscription service which also includes E-News.  Provides timely alerts, plus newly published research and forms
  • Investment Management
    • Putnam Investments Webinar Recordings:
      • How floating-rate funds can help you navigate rates Paul D. Scanlon, CFA, Co-Head of Fixed Income Listen to replay now
      • Tax-free investing today, Thalia Meehan, CFA, Portfolio Manager Listen to replay now.

Industry Reports


Resources on “Market Timing”

NAAIM defends active investment management in comments responding to a Department of Labor Rulemaking: October, 2008

NAAIM Position Paper on Redemption Fees: 

“The Performance of Professional Market Timers: Daily Evidence From Executed Strategies”
Journal of Financial Economics, Don M. Chance and Michael L. Hemler


Books

All About Market Timing – Leslie N. Masonson, McGraw Hill 

The Essential Basics of Technical Analysis for Financial Advisors – Walter Deemer
Everything you Know About Investing is Wrong – John K. Sosnowy with Kori S. Voorhees, Xlibris Corporation
Lasting Wealth is a Matter of Timing – John Sosnowy, 21st Century Publishers
Panic-Proof Investing – Thomas F. Basso, John Wiley & Sons


Articles

The Journal of Investing Summer, 1997 Why Market Timing Works
The Investment Reporter January, 1996 Buy-and-Hold Brinkmanship: A Young Person’s Investment Game
Personal Financial Planning November/ December, 1996 Adding a Dynamic Component to the Asset Allocation Mix
Financial Planning on Wall Street April, 1994 Market Timing Strategies Spell $s
AAII Journal May, 1994 The Market Timing Approach: A Guide to the Various Strategies
Hulbert Financial Digest August, 1993 It’s a Matter of Time
Technical Analysis of Stocks & Commodities December, 1994 Three Market Timing Strategies


Podcasts 

2015 Uncommon Knowledge Interviews, Courtesy of OC Talk Radio)

  1. The NAAIM Conference discussion – approx. 60 minutes

http://www.strategicinvestorradio.com/e/naaim-conference-summary/

  1. Interviews with 12 different NAAIM Conference attendees – Each last 3 – 7 minutes
    1. Ben Warwick – http://www.strategicinvestorradio.com/e/ben-warwick-quantitative-equity-strategies/
    2. David Walton – http://www.strategicinvestorradio.com/e/david-walton-statis-trade/
    3. Ken Graves – http://www.strategicinvestorradio.com/e/ken-graves-capital-research-advisors/
    4. Ralph Doudera – http://www.strategicinvestorradio.com/e/ralph-doudera-spectrum-financial/
    5. Dudley Lehmer – http://www.strategicinvestorradio.com/e/dudley-lehmer-eagle-mountain-advisors/
    6. Larry McMillan – http://www.strategicinvestorradio.com/e/larry-mcmillan-mcmillan-analysis-corp/
    7. Jonathan Wallentine – http://www.strategicinvestorradio.com/e/jonathan-wallentine-actuarial-management/
    8. Mike Dean – http://www.strategicinvestorradio.com/e/mike-dean-dfg-advisory/
    9. Michael Gayed – http://www.strategicinvestorradio.com/e/michael-gayed-pension-partners/
    10. John McClure – http://www.strategicinvestorradio.com/e/john-mcclure-profit-score/
    11. Tyler Wood – http://www.strategicinvestorradio.com/e/tyler-wood-market-technicians-association/
    12. Paul Schatz – http://www.strategicinvestorradio.com/e/paul-schatz-heritage-capital/